Dairy Australia - Dairy information for Australian Dairy Farmers and the industry

Primary content

Dairy Australia announces three additional Board Director candidates standing for election at the 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM), following the closure of nominations on Monday 31 August.

David Beca, Carlie Barry and Phil Ryan will stand as candidates after their nominations were supported by at least 100 Group A members of Dairy Australia (farmer levy payers). This is an alternative path to election as a Director under Dairy Australia’s Constitution outside of the Board Selection Committee nomination process.

Dairy Australia previously announced that current Directors Tania Luckin and Roseanne Healy and dairy farmer Paul Roderick had been selected as candidates by the Board Selection Committee relative to a skills matrix. These nominations have been endorsed by the Board.

The six candidates will contest three Board Director vacancies (comprising two positions for Milk Producer Directors and one position for a Director with Agribusiness, Innovation and Change Management Director), which are due to the expiry of three serving Directors’ board terms.

In accordance with the Dairy Australia constitution, the Board Selection Committee has determined, based on their skills and experience, that the following candidates will be standing against each other:

  • Tania Luckin will stand for the Milk Producer Director vacancy against Carlie Barry.
  • Paul Roderick will stand for the Milk Producer Director vacancy against Phil Ryan.
  • Roseanne Healy will stand for the Agribusiness, Innovation and Change Management Director position against David Beca.

To be successfully elected into the three vacant Director roles, each candidate will require more than 50% of the votes cast at the AGM to be held on 27 November 2020. More information on the Director nomination process

Chair of Dairy Australia’s Board Selection Committee, Professor Paul Wood AO, said:

“We have a strong field of six candidates in this year’s Board Director elections. They represent a mix of skills and experience and all share a passionate commitment for wanting Dairy Australia to be the best organisation possible in its support of dairy farmers and the wider industry.

“All levy payers are encouraged to register as Members of Dairy Australia in order to vote. It’s an easy process and information is available via our website (dairyaustralia.com.au/members) or by calling our Memberline T:1800 004 377. The deadline for registration is 23 October 2020.”

Skills required by Director roles and candidate biographies:

Required Skills and Experience

Suitable Milk Producer Director candidates must have a strong background and experience in all facets of milk production/dairy farm systems and demonstrated capability in identifying and evaluating technology and service programs to support the industry. Ideally, they will also have had relevant experience in representing the needs of dairy farmers and in governance / board roles.

Suitable Agribusiness, Innovation & Change Management Director candidates must have proven ability in leading an agribusiness entity of commercial scale and complexity, with a strong focus on innovation, commercialisation and adoption in the farming area. A candidate must demonstrate capability in strategy related to research, development, new technology and its adoption in agribusiness, with an understanding of the commercial drivers of business innovation and culture, market development, and the interface with the private sector and government.

Candidate details

Board nominated candidates

Tania Luckin has operated dairy and commercial enterprises for the past 23 years in both Victoria and South Australia and is currently in a family partnership dairy farm at Heywood, South West Victoria. Her off-farm contribution to supporting dairy has included serving as a Bonlac Supply Company Director, Board Member of the WestVic Dairy Regional Development Program and a member of the Dairy Industry Advocacy Review Team. Tania further participated in the Fonterra NZ Director Governance Development Program in 2015. She is standing for election for a second term following her appointment as a Director of Dairy Australia in 2017.

Paul Roderick has operated his family dairy farm at Harrisville, south-east Queensland for the last 27 years. He has been actively involved in supporting dairy farming in Queensland during this time and is currently Chair of Subtropical Dairy, Dairy Australia’s Regional Development Program. He was a Director on Premium Milk Ltd for eleven years and is a member of the Australian Dairy Conference Board.

Roseanne Healy is an experienced corporate advisor with over 20 years in agricultural investment optimisation. Roseanne has long term non-executive experience in not-for-profit, ASX-listed companies and statutory corporations in the agribusiness and innovation sectors bringing a breadth of experience and insight on strategy, impact and change management. She is currently Deputy Chair of Grains Research and Development Corporation, Chair of Dairysafe, Director of Airborne Research Australia Limited and Food Manufacturing and Services and is a former Director of AgriFutures Australia. She is standing for election for a second term after her appointment as a Director of Dairy Australia in 2018.

100 Group A nominated candidates

Carlie Barry dairy farms in South West Victoria.  She worked through lower-order sharefarming to 50:50 sharefarming, then to leasing and farm ownership. With husband Owen, she also leases a second dairy farm and milks a combined 600 cows at peak.  Carlie developed an understanding of the many variations in dairy businesses when employed by Fonterra, looking after 130 farms.  She also provided HR support for the south west region of Victoria utilising her degree in human resources.  Carlie was the State President of the Victorian Young Farmers, a member of the Warrnambool Cheese and Butter Supplier Advisory Forum and is a graduate of the Marcus Oldham Rural Leadership Program.

Phil Ryan is a dairy farmer in the Bega Valley NSW. He is a current member of the NSW Farmers' Association Dairy Committee and represents them on a number of industry committees. He has represented local farmers through the Australian Dairy Plan, Mandatory Code of Conduct meetings and engages with the broader dairy community through social media. He has over 10 years’ experience in business analysis and project management, primarily with major banks, with experience and skills in critical analysis, solution design, and issue and risk management.

David Beca has experience in small, medium and large businesses across private, public listed and unlisted, and cooperative ownership. He has specialised in the dairy industry, though he has experience across a wide range of agricultural enterprises and software. This includes owning farms, as an asset manager overseeing agricultural businesses across five countries, as CEO of one of Australia’s largest dairy farming enterprises, as Managing Director of Uruguay’s largest dairy farming enterprise (publicly-listed) and of an agricultural software company, as director of an agricultural consultancy company, and as non-executive director of a cooperative dairy company.  David has experience with agricultural research and extension projects, and published papers on dairy business performance.

Back to news